English Hammered Coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by HammeredCoin, Aug 28, 2015.

1. HammeredCoin

HammeredCoin Active Member

I thought I would get a thread started to see if anyone else cared to join in a discussion! I am an avid collector and researcher of hammered coins minted from the reign of Henry II to Edward III.

image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. FitzNigel

FitzNigel Medievalist

While this is my area of historical expertise, I've already posted all the coins I have from 12-13th c. England! I hope to add more pieces in the future though...

HammeredCoin and Eng like this.
  4. Eng

Eng Senior Eng

Very nice Hammered, what grading company is this coin in???

5. Nap

Nap Well-Known Member

I have a Tealby penny of Henry II but for some reason I forgot to image it. Will have to shoot a pic next time it comes home from the safe box.

For now, my only Plantagenet coin is this one:

[​IMG]

A mixed up flip-over double struck short cross penny, probably of King John, but very difficult to identify. In general, short cross pennies are tricky to identify, as the coins of Henry II, Richard I, John, and Henry III are all inscribed in the name of 'Henry'. There are features that can tell them apart, such as the number of pearls on the crown, or the size and direction of certain letters in the legend. Given the double strike here the legend is hard to read. The moneyer is probably Raul or Rauf of London, unhelpful to identification because this moneyer struck for multiple monarchs.

Double struck coins of this era are not uncommon, but flip-over double strikes are fairly unusual, especially with a quite visible portrait on both sides.

6. FitzNigel

FitzNigel Medievalist

That is quite different Nap! I like it

7. chrsmat71

chrsmat71 I LIKE TURTLES!

haven't seen one quite like that before nap.

8. HammeredCoin