EID MAR - is it real?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by audiovisual, Mar 10, 2018.

1. audiovisual

audiovisual New Member

Hello everyone - new user and total newb here. Thanks for having me in this forum. Lots of interesting topics.
    In my family possession is what appears to be an Ides of march coin. How do you tell if it's real or fake? Any form of guidance is much appreciated...

IMG_0019.jpg IMG_0027.jpg IMG_0031.jpg IMG_0045.jpg

Marsyas Mike and TJC like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. IdesOfMarch01

IdesOfMarch01 Well-Known Member

This is a reproduction that's not meant to fool anyone.

The giveaway is the letter "R" under the cap in your first picture, which likely stands for "Reproduction."

A real example in this condition would be worth in excess of $500,000.

Justin Lee, TJC, RAGNAROK and 5 others like this.
  4. Alegandron

Alegandron "ΤΩΙ ΚΡΑΤΙΣΤΩΙ..." ΜΕΓΑΣ ΑΛΕΞΑΝΔΡΟΣ, June 323 BCE

Oh, WOW, @IdesOfMarch01 ! I have no R! :D :D :D

Rimp AR Denarius AR Brutus EID MAR COPY by Slavei duplicate ex FSR 103.jpg
    Roman Imperatorial AR Denarius Brutus EID MAR
    COPY by Slavei
    ex FSR 103

Just jokes. This coin was created by the famous imitator Slavei.

I purchased it (my first and probably my ONLY modern imitation), as I knew I probably will NOT have the opportunity of capturing this Rarity. Bought it on a whim.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
  5. ancient coin hunter

ancient coin hunter 3rd Century Usurper

I don't think I'll ever have a real one (unless it's in really bad condition). Anyway, enjoy the type, even if it is a replica.

Alegandron likes this.
  6. audiovisual

audiovisual New Member

Thanks guys...so the consensus is... it's not real because of the "R"?

Alegandron likes this.
  7. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I'm not a regular on this thread but the above posts and likes would indicate you do not have the real deal. These folks here are marvelous at what they do.