eBay: wonder how THIS will play out...

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by -jeffB, Feb 13, 2022.

1. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

This just came up on the Bay:

1944 Henning Jefferson Nickel - No Mintmark, Not Silver, Looped R

I suppose for moral consistency I should report it, since it's in violation of eBay's rather heavy-handed and inflexible policies. I won't, though. Henning nickels are their own class of collectible.

There are 18 completed auctions for Henning nickels at the moment. Does eBay carve out an exception for these, officially or unofficially?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I would like one. But I would not pay that much for one.

MIGuy likes this.
  4. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

Yea prices are outrageous for them.They sell within the $150-$200 range average I'm still looking for a cheap one.

MIGuy likes this.
  5. TheNickelGuy

TheNickelGuy Yippie I Oh

I think that is a crazy price. I found mine bag searching. I just wanted it because it is in the Redbook for many years with an *

UncleScroge likes this.
  6. Timewarp

Timewarp Intrepid Traveler

Guess I'll look thru all my Nickels just out of curiosity.

7. Jim Dale

Jim Dale Well-Known Member

I'm evidently, not much of a coin collector because I have never heard of that nickel. I don't collect many nickels except the WAR NICKELS, because they have silver in their "mix."

8. Bob Evancho

Bob Evancho Well-Known Member

Does anyone know which Henning 1944 nickel is rarer? The one as noted with the looped or defective R or the one with the dot over the left side of the Monticello building.

9. Lueds

Lueds Well-Known Member