eBay: Risk of a fake

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Silverlock, Nov 24, 2018.

1. Silverlock

Silverlock Well-Known Member

The third and last post in this series examines how risky shopping on eBay really is.

The chance an ancient coin listed on eBay is fake varies considerably with the price of the coin. The higher the price of the coin, the greater the probability it is fake. This pattern holds for all collectibles.

Fake in this context is considered to be any coin not correctly described in the listing. This includes modern copies not identified as such, questionable features used to inflate attribution, gross misattributions. For our purposes fake does not include grading, coins described as rarer than they are, and descriptive discrepancies not affecting overall attribution.

I studied the fake reports and purchased coins that looked questionable specifically to calibrate my eye, but keep in mind these percentages are based on my personal assessment of authenticity from listing photos. Your mileage may vary. I would appreciate hearing other assessments.

These were sampled periodically over the past two years, the percentages bounce around, sometimes substantially, so think of these as average values for the entire period:

LRB <20% fake
    Average Roman emperor denarius (Marcus Aurelius) <20%
    Average Roman sestertius <20%
    Athenian owl tetradrachm <20% recently, normally 20 - 40%
    Aegean turtle 40 - 60%
    Julius Caesar denarius 40 - 60%

For context, here is how these ancient coin fake percentages compare to similar surveys I've conducted or read about from eBay:

US coins (all) <20% fake
    Rare books (all) <20%
    Baseball cards (all) <20%
    Minerals <20%
    Meteorites (all) <20%
    Lunar meteorites 60 - 80%
    Martian meteorites 40 - 60%
    Trilobites over 3cm >80%
    Dinosaur bones <20%
    Dinosaur eggs >80%
    Dinosaur skin >80%
    Collectible knives <20%
    Roman antiquities (over $100) 60 - 80%