eBay listings- Is there a 'better' time to list an auction?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Coinsnake, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Coinsnake

Coinsnake MorganMan

Hey guys, I've been buying and selling successfully on eBay for a couple years now. I would like your input on something. I've noticed when buying or selling coins that the auctions often don't get much attention until the last few hours or minutes. I want to know from othercollectors (you guys & gals) if there is a certain day or time frame that would be the coin buying peak of eBay. Also any input on the worst times to end an auction would be helpful. I mean I obviously know that if an auction ends at 3am on a Monday that it probbably won't get much attention, but some input would be appreciated.

Thanx

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. bahabully

bahabully Junior Member

Sunday late afternoons and evenings seem to be loaded with closing auctions....... My guess is that's the best time.

After that would be:
    Saturday afternoon through evening
    then any day M-F evening time.....

Avoid closing on holidays, major sporting events, etc.... anything that would draw large segments of the population to a point away from the ol' pc.........

EYE could probably run a quick sell price by day by hour comparative view based on some simple delimiting attributes of a common coin or two....

4. coinhead63

coinhead63 Not slabbed yet

For buying, I like the auctions that end during a weekday. I seem to have less competition. For selling, I agree with bahabully.

5. Freddypm

Freddypm Member

When I sell, I make the auction end on Friday around 9pm Central time. I get the best action across all time zones and it seems like a lot of people are looking on Friday night after work. Maybe because Fridays are a typical payday.

6. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member