Ebay Auction with attitude

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by cdb1950, Jan 28, 2005.

1. cdb1950

cdb1950 Senior Member

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3954948732&fromMakeTrack=true

This seller has something for sale that myself and a few other folks seem to think is not authentic. His reply:

"If you want to play games and tell me that the BPE sells regular $20.00 sheets, your crazy and I dont want to talk to you."

This reply is posted right on the auction. Others, too. Fun reading.

Do you think this is real?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. MorganFred

MorganFred New Member

Well, I'm no expert on paper money (except for spending it), but I agree there seems something not legitimate about the item. I have no doubt that the seller is convinced that it is authentic, but it seems to me the Bureau of Engraving and Printing has such a tight grip on their quality control so as to make it almost impossible to create an error like this.

I also think his Reserve price, whatever it is, is way too high (matching his expectations), even for a rarity such as this. He could be light years ahead if he had it authenticated first, but maybe he doesn't want this if he has even an iota of suspicion that it's not real. I should hope that any winning bidder would demand authentication before concluding the transaction.

4. Ciscokid

Ciscokid New Member

I seem to be going against the grain today for sum reason--

Not so, this item could very well be legit, at the FUN show I saw similiar and more awkward angles, cuts and dieangles and all other types of weird cuts going for $3600.00 and UP!!---wild and crazy, the 1 I saw At the FUN show I wanted to buy was 3600, but $3600?? for a miscut paper? to rich for me bro :p I rather buy gold saints.. :D

5. tradernick

tradernick Coin Hoarder

6. cdb1950

cdb1950 Senior Member

A few things set off alarm bells on this one.