Early Date Large Cent Work Group

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Marshall, Oct 11, 2016.

1. Marshall

Marshall Junior Member

I have been bothered a bit by the traditional die state nomenclature which divides the die states by variety rather than the obverse and reverse dies themselves. This is all well and good when the progression of obverse and reverse dies is continuous, but they aren't always as nice and clean as hoped.

Is there any interest in forming an online work group to put together a die state sequence by the obverse and reverse dies and utilizing images from public domain? I wouldn't expect it to be an all consuming time eater, but simply a place where we could compile a more accurate and user friendly resource for die states.

Perhaps just use this thread as an ongoing meeting place?

aubade21 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I have ZERO knowledge on these varieties and don't think I would be any help, but I think the idea is fascinating and I would love to learn from what you guys uncover.

Marshall likes this.
  4. aubade21

aubade21 Well-Known Member

Marshall- Are you an EAC member? I was thinking that you might get additional traction with this concept with EACers (posted on CopperNotes). That said, I think it would be a fun project. Feel free to PM me.

Marshall likes this.
  5. Moekeever

Moekeever Well-Known Member

Marshall I am willing to help. The more I can learn the better.

Marshall likes this.
  6. Marshall

Marshall Junior Member

I have been a member of EAC on three different occasions beginning (and retaining) EAC Membership #1799 under Bobby (I started young) and Marshall. Constant moving for my work kept my mail in disarray and life caused my interest to wax and wane at times.

Have they gone online now or is it still primarily a paper newsletter?

7. Moekeever

Moekeever Well-Known Member

It's online now along with the past issues.