Doubled headed nickel error Real or Fake

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Tracey84, Sep 13, 2019.

1. Tracey84

Tracey84 New Member

I found a double heads nickel, It has two different dates and mints. 1 side has 1980-P, other side has 1989-D. Is that even possible, or is that a dead giveaway that it's fake ?
    I would love yall's opinion on this coin. I did put it in coin holder before taking pictures so hopefully the glare (if any) dosen't get in the way in the pictures...

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Fake. You can see the seam on the 1989D side. Put it in a jar or something with a lid and shake it. Both pieces should separate.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I know of one attributed double headed nickel. Most likely mint employee assisted.

But examples such as yours is either a novelty item such a magicians coin.
    It is altered. Two different dates is a dead giveaway.

Last edited: Sep 13, 2019
    Hookman, I_like_Morgans and tommyc03 like this.
  5. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

magicians coin, I found one a few years back

Hookman and tommyc03 like this.
  6. Islander80-83

Islander80-83 Well-Known Member

Dean 295 and I_like_Morgans like this.
  7. Circus

Circus Tokens Only !! TEC#4981

Magicians coin, THere is more than one company that makes a number of different types and styles. the different dates have to do with the pater (story) that goes along with the trick.
    If you google them you will get any number of them. And you might be surprised at what they cost new.

8. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

The guy who lost it had to pay for his drink that night...

JeffC likes this.
  9. Islander80-83

Islander80-83 Well-Known Member

It looks something like this when you open it..

S20180110_009-ccfopt.jpg S20180110_010-ccfopt.jpg

I_like_Morgans likes this.