Does this dime feel sketchy to you?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by jtlee321, Mar 29, 2015.

1. jtlee321

jtlee321 Well-Known Member

So I've been going through eBay looking for an 1838 seated dime. It's to replace the one I was given as a child and then in my teens, foolishly sold to buy sports cards probably. Anyway, I came across this auction and it just doesn't look right. I'm no expert in the seated coins, but it just looks off to me. What are your thoughts?

Here is a picture from that auction.

image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. bkozak33

bkozak33 Collector

Its real probably altered surfaces

4. jtlee321

I guess it's just me. It feels like a counterfeit. Lady Liberty looks off to me. Mostly it's her face.

Spud Koolzip likes this.
  5. bkozak33

bkozak33 Collector

yeah, not a very attractive woman

6. deacon2828

deacon2828 Active Member

Looks good to me !

7. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Yeah, that seems to be one of Great Southern's specialties. Looks pretty heavily cleaned to me, but they often light their photos in such a way as to make it hard to judge.

ldhair and KurtS like this.
  8. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

I will second this. While I've no immediate concerns with authenticity, I would respectfully suggest searching out a different vendor, perhaps one whose talents are devoted more to presenting a true-to-life in-hand appearance.

tommyc03 likes this.
  9. Tom B

Tom B TomB Everywhere Else

The coin is genuine, but I would not advise someone to buy it.

10. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

Although their feedback doesn't reflect it, this seller has a reputation for selling cleaned coins. I also don't like that this listing says "scarce in UNC condition" but doesn't actually state the coin is uncirculated (which it probably isn't -- my guess is AU cleaned).