Does it pay for a beginner to belong to a grading service?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Rodinnc, Sep 20, 2012.

1. Rodinnc

Rodinnc New Member

I'm new to coin collecting and I see that coins that are graded by grading services get mpore money for their coins. Does it pay for a beginner to belong to one of these services? Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Depends on what ya wanna do Rod. Ya wanna collect or are ya in this thing for 'money'. Collectors pick up what they like, irregardless of grade or condition, and pay attention to only what they like and enjoy.

4. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

Join the ANA, there are several benefits including direct submissions to NGC.

5. If your in it for money and lack the love of the hobby, you will not be in it for long I assure you. lol :)

6. If you are new to the hobby, it does not pay to join any of the TPG services. Your focus should be on learning.

7. Rodinnc

Rodinnc New Member

I'm in this for the money in as far as I want to leave a good collection to my Grandchildren when I'm gone.

8. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

I've been collecting for thirty years and have a difficult time making a profit. Good luck.

9. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

If you've 'key' date coins then by all means get 'em graded. These will fetch more when the time comes to sell. Lesser issues, keep raw, as the cost of grading will not justify them and you'll wind up losing money.

10. JAS0N888

JAS0N888 Member

a beginner? no. unless your grading skills are very good u will lose money. look around find a series u like, do a little research and enjoy it.

11. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

+1