Does CAC Make a Difference?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by kanga, Mar 27, 2017.

1. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I've been offered a coin in a PCGS holder with a CAC sticker.
    The grade on the slab is VF-35 but I think -25 or -30 is more correct based on the ANA Guide.
    The rarity number puts it in the "Rare" category per both Tompkins and Peterson.
    There's a green CAC sticker on the slab.

Does that make the VF-35 grade more likely?
    Is the ANA Guide reliable enough?

We're talking about $850.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

From my knowledge of CAC stickers. It is their agreement that the grade is correct. So nothing less and/or nothing more.

Two Dogs and Santinidollar like this.
  4. charlietig

charlietig Well-Known Member

What's the coin

5. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Kanga
    First Hope to meet you Friday in Baltimore , Alan and I should be there by 10 am.
    Second trust your eye....you been doing this thing we call collecting for how long?
    Sticker, slab makes no difference to us dinosaurs . It is what your eye tells you...it is.
    Make your offer based on what you know and eyes tell you .
    Either it's a keeper or the hunt goes on...
    after all no matter what's on the slab you have to live with it ....not a TPG or someone with magic beans.

6. PennyGuy

PennyGuy US and CDN Copper

Have a good time at the show guys.

Paddy54 likes this.
  7. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  8. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

Green also means that CAC is willing to buy it for bid for the grade assigned.

hotwheelsearl likes this.
  9. hotwheelsearl

hotwheelsearl Well-Known Member

So this means that they're absolutely confident that it's good enough to make money off of - that's a good sign!

10. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd