Does anyone remember?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by cpm9ball, Aug 14, 2015.

1. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

In either 2004 or 2005, an error was found on the reverse of a 2001-P Kennedy half dollar. It was a clash or die break through the rays between the eagle's head and left wing (viewer's right). It was reported in Coin World about that time, but I can't remember exactly when.

Can anyone help?

Chris

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I know of 2 errors found in 2001 P Kennedy - The Reverse Die Crack but that caused the Convex Reverse, and

I was looking through my files and remember saving this picture from 2001P -
    m4808RXfW3o3q0H4pbgghHA.jpg

4. cpm9ball

The photo you posted is the one for which I need info. I have 27 of those coins, but they are actually a progression and on some, the mark is longer (and doubled). FYI - That small round mark on the upper right of the shield is actually a die break. It's on all 27 of mine.

I was just going through some of my old albums when I came across this batch, and I'm wondering if this coin is listed somewhere with more info. I wish that I could post photos, but I no longer have my stereomicroscope.

Thanks, paddy!

Chris

gronnh20 and paddyman98 like this.
  5. 19Lyds

19Lyds Member of the United States of Confusion

I do not recall any publication reporting on these "clashes" but I do recall them being discussed on coin forums.

And BTW, IIRC, these all came from the $100 mint bags. Kinda like your missing clad layer coin.

6. cpm9ball

Yes, the 27 coins I have also came from the $100 Mixed P&D bag that produced the one missing the clad layer. The problem I have is that I never could accept the "clash theory" because the mark eventually becomes longer and doubled. I have 4 different stages in which it gets longer. This couldn't happen with a clash.