Does anyone else think that it would be a good idea to bring back Liberty to US coinage?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Bryce Ward, Feb 15, 2016.

1. Bryce Ward

Bryce Ward New Member

I personally think that atleast for one year they should bring Liberty(as in the Female personage of Liberty NOT the word Liberty) to the obverse of all US denominations. Color me crazy but I personally think an image of a beautiful goddess like woman symbolizing Liberty is much better to look at than ugly dead US Presidents. The 2007 Jefferson First Spouse Bronze medallion is one of most beautiful things the US mint minted since the Peace Dollar(Although the Sacagawea dollar got VERY close...).

Anyone agree?

Gilbert and mac266 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mac266

mac266 Well-Known Member

I'm a student of history, like many people interested in numismatics. That said, I'm also a big believer in the enlightenment era philosophies that started our country. So, naturally, I'm not a fan of honoring human beings as if they were nobility. Er go, we should remove all humans from our coinage and focus on what (not who) made our nation great. So, yes, Liberty should return to our coins.

I have to disagree with your assessment of the Sacagawea dollar, however. Personal taste only, but I don't think it's an attractive coin at all.

Gilbert likes this.
  4. coinzip

coinzip Well-Known Member

Liberty is on Gold, Silver, and Platinum eagles.

Paddy54 likes this.
  5. Bryce Ward

Bryce Ward New Member

Eh, That stuff is bullion. I would like to see Liberty to return to mainstream currency coinage.

6. Bryce Ward

Bryce Ward New Member

Agreed. That's why I like the idea of "Liberty" on our coinage(and not just the aesthetic reasons I mentioned in my previous post). That the principle of freedom should be our guide rather than individual people.

Gilbert and mac266 like this.
  7. coinzip

coinzip Well-Known Member