Do you think this Austrian coin is real?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Hiddendragon, Oct 3, 2015.

1. Hiddendragon

Hiddendragon World coin collector

I'm curious if this coin is real or a fake? And if it's a fake, what gives it away?
    $_57.JPG $_572.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Daniel Jones likes this.
  4. derkerlegand

derkerlegand Well-Known Member

By "real" you mean not a restrike, right?

5. Daniel Jones

Daniel Jones Well-Known Member

I have learned these coins are mostly real, but have been made almost every year since 1780 with the same date as a tradition.

6. rooman9

rooman9 Lovin Shiny Things

I would say the chances are it is a restrike. They've done so many restrikes I have no idea how you would even being to tell a real one apart.

7. Hiddendragon

So the restrikes are still silver and the same composition? Is it like a frozen date? Were they restruck to circulate or as a collector's item or something else?

8. Hiddendragon

9. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

looks like a modern restrike. I had 1 of those once. traded it for other coins.

Numismat likes this.
  10. Hiddendragon

I ended up getting it for $5. Worth it?

xCoin-Hoarder'92x likes this.
  11. Numismat

Numismat World coin enthusiast

Definitely. It's a late 20th century Vienna restrike but still should be at least 80% silver.

spirityoda likes this.
  12. doug5353

doug5353 Well-Known Member

Especially after World War II, Maria Theresa's (and British gold sovereigns) were one of the major storehouses of wealth in the Middle East - Arabia, Syria, Jordan, and Lebanon, this was the "go-to" coin.

They were popular long before that, of course, which is why they struck them basically unchanged for nearly 200 years. Now maybe the Chinese are striking them, but those would not be so popular. :eek:

===========edit