Do you buy AGE or ASE proofs each year?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Westtexasbound, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Westtexasbound

Westtexasbound Active Member

If so then why? Just to be clear I do this as well and am trying to figure out why I am doing it.
    They don't change. Its modern metal. I guess you could get lucky and have a low mintage one but most seem to sell out.

Am I just mindlessly doing this and should stop or is it perfectly normal and many of you have wrestled with the question and decided to keep doing it? Its not like I started at the beginning so I am not completing a set. I got involved only a few years back.

May be a dumb question but I don't know if the OCD part of me is winning out over the rational side.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

I had been buying one proof ASE and one AGE every year since 1986, but started buying the first spouse proofs when they came out instead of the AGE. That's right, I'm going down with the ship. I just prefer the rarity and variety. I continue to purchase a couple of ASE proof every year though.

Rassi likes this.
  4. Morgandude11

Morgandude11 As long as it's Silver, I'm listening

Nothing wrong with buying ASEs or AGEs. I get the ASE proofs every year, just to collect them. No different than collecting any other coin. With the exception of the reverse, and the wartime metal change, the Lincoln cent has been the same since 1909, so sameness does not change its collectibility.

5. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

Not to mention that for a price not much more over spot, you get a big pretty coin. If I remember correctly, I paid just over $600 for the AGE in 86, of course they've gone all over the place since then.

6. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter