Do these two coins have a matte finish?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Xasprit, Aug 23, 2016.

1. Xasprit

Xasprit New Member

I'm new to coin collecting, and these coins have a really weird finish to them, besides the back of the nickel which is slightly normal. Can anyone tell me if these are matte or not? If so, are they worth anything? 20160823_221844.jpg 20160823_221824.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Hey, welcome. I think what you are seeing we usually refer to as "environmental damage". Exposure to an acidic environment will cause frosting like that.

4. Xasprit

Xasprit New Member

So if this isn't a matte finish, what would one look like? Also, what exactly would this coin have to be exposed to in order to become like this? Just interested :D

5. Kentucky

Don't really have any matte pictures I can post, Google and look for images. If you drop a quarter in vinegar for awhile, or in muriatic acid for a shorter while, or if you leave it in an environment where there are acidic materials. Someone else is bound to comment on this.

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

IMG_1671[1].JPG

IMG_1672[1].JPG

jay4202472000 and Michael K like this.
  7. Kentucky

Now THATS a matte finish!

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Don't worry.. the Nickel is worth 5c and the Quarter is 25C

9. Jewels2017

Jewels2017 Active Member