Did I Translate "Vuurijzers" Correctly?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by jgenn, Jan 26, 2019.

1. jgenn

jgenn World Crown Collector

Do we have any Dutch speakers on this forum? I recently acquired a Philipsdaalder from 1558 that shows some interesting devices on the reverse. Jean Elsen catalog listings consistently call these "vuurijzers" which, according to both Google and Bing, translates to fire irons (aka andirons, fire-dogs). These were fireplace hardware that came in pairs to support logs and could sport decorative guards, so decorative that, apparently, they might be featured as devices on coins.

1558_NL_1Ecu_v2.jpg

chrisild likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. jgenn

The fact that my post got indexed on the internet already should not be a measure of its correctness. ;)

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

Ha.. And I didn't even click on the link you provided on your first post.. I did a Google search. Nice coin. Thanks for sharing.

6. paddyman98

And here is the translation I did -
    iron.JPG

7. jgenn

Ain't technology great! So how did that part of the description on CoinFacts wiki get translated as "jewels"?

8. chrisild

chrisild Coin Collector

Some more info in Dutch ...
    http://wiki.muntenenpapiergeld.nl/index.php?title=Vuurijzer

... with a (mostly machine :) ) translation: Fire Iron