Delos Didrachm : counterfeit ?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Thierry Pruvost, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Thierry Pruvost

Thierry Pruvost Active Member

Good morning guys,

I have the possibility to buy this Delos Didrachm.
    I know it's very rare and expensive, expecially in this quality.
    Do you think the coin is guenine or counterfeit ? I never seen a didrachm in this quality but everything is good : edge ans weight (9,62 gramms).

Please help me :D
    It seems to beautiful to be real...

[​IMG] [​IMG]

Regards from France.

Thierry Pruvost

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TIF

TIF Always learning.

The style looks wrong (childish, even), the fabric looks wrong (cast), "soapy" devices, etc. I'm no expert but would bet any amount of money on it being a modern fake.

4. Thierry Pruvost

Thanks @TIF
    Yes it's certainly a modern fake.

5. gsimonel

gsimonel Well-Known Member

I don't understand. Why are you asking us if it's fake if you're a professional numismatist?

6. Thierry Pruvost

@gsimonel Because Delos Didrachm are very rare and some other opinion are welcome.
    Nobody's perfect.
    Is there any problem if I ask some help ?

7. Meander

Meander Well-Known Member

Do you need special license or education to be a professional numismatist? For all I know you establish a bussiness and you can call yourself professional numismatist.

8. Thierry Pruvost

Just to be clear. I never ask help for coins. But when a coin can possibly worth 30'000 or 50'000 dollars I have some doubts and it's natural.
    If there is any problem with the fact that I'm a coin dealer I leave the forum with no problem.

When you look at international auctions, sometime you have lots that are withdraws because they are good fakes. But the numismatits didn't see it first.

Deacon Ray likes this.
  9. Deacon Ray

Deacon Ray Artist & Historian Supporter

Welcome to the Ancients Forum @Thierry Pruvost ! I enjoyed your post and thought it was interesting.