Definitive Guides to Liberty Seated Coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by kanga, Sep 22, 2018.

1. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I'm interested in the definitive books/guides for:
    -- Liberty Seated Dimes
    -- Liberty Seated Quarters
    -- Liberty Seated Half Dollars

By "definitive" I mean an "in depth" coverage of varieties.
    Sort of like Overton with Capped Bust Half Dollars or Tompkins with Early Quarters.

I did a quick search and found some online sites.
    Liberty Seated Dime varieties by Gerry Fortin was one.
    But I would prefer books/guides.
    Here's a few that I found:
    -- The Complete Guide to Liberty Seated Dimes - Brian Greer
    -- The Authoritative Reference on Liberty Seated Quarters - Kevin Flynn
    -- The Complete Guide to Liberty Seated Half Dollars - Randy Wiley and Bill Bugert

Are these the best?
    The Seated Half one appears to be expensive.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I have seen this book when I go to Barnes and Noble booksellers
    10614.png

4. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

I rely on Gerry Fortin and Kevin Flynn references quite offten. You may want to research out of print text. Which are most always high dollar.
    I love to have an L&M reference on half dimes....I seldom see them for sale,and when I do they are high.
    And I'll agree some new references material on the seated series would be great.
    There are plenty of varieties in that series as well some of our best designed coinage.

5. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I've got Federal Half Dimes, the Logan McCloskey book.
    Looking to get some "in depth" guides for the other Seated Liberty issues.

Paddy54 likes this.
  6. Paddy54

Yeah Kanga that's what I'm looking for...but must admit since its hard to find my hunt has been off and on.
    I do like Flynns books I have several,and they proven their worth many times over!

7. samclemens3991