Dealers: How did you get started?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Paul M., Feb 22, 2017.

1. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

I don't have time to do 50 shows a year or money to buy a huge inventory and rent a shop, but it'd be nice to make a few bucks on the side off my hobby. :)

Those of you who consider yourselves dealers: how did you get started? What advice would you give (besides the usual "buy low, sell high," and "learn everything you can about the market and the coins you sell")?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You first need a few deck of cards ;)

BlackBeard_Thatch and gregarious like this.
  4. paddyman98

First you need a few deck of cards! :woot:
    shopping.jpg

5. gregarious

gregarious E Pluribus Unum

6. paddyman98

@Paul M.
    One thing I could mention is that a Coin Shop dealer should have the right attitude towards their customers. There is a Coin Shop located in NYC that I only visit about once a year. The first time I went in about 6 years ago they treated me very bad! I walked out with all of my money and not 1 coin from the undesirable shop. And the only reason I go once a year is to see if they would ever decide to treat me better. Has never happened yet.

Paul M. and carpman98 like this.
  7. Dimedude2

Dimedude2 Member

Like many successful businesses, customer service is imperative. you can a tremendous inventory and fair prices, but if you are not friendly and accommodating people will back away. This hobby for me is for enjoyment, and during my leisure time I do not want to be around undesirables.

Paul M. likes this.
  8. Silverhouse

Silverhouse Well-Known Member

For the most part some LCSs where I am make the customer feel they are inconveniencing them.

9. Silverhouse

Silverhouse Well-Known Member

You forgot to mention they need a healthy bank roll to start with.

paddyman98 likes this.
  10. galapac