Damaged Morgan Questions

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by IBetASilverDollar, Feb 9, 2017.

1. IBetASilverDollar

IBetASilverDollar Well-Known Member

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, if not apologies.

I'm new to collecting and trying to soak up as much as I can along the way. I picked up this 1889-CC Morgan recently. It clearly has some damage but that made it a bit more affordable as it's obviously a rare one. I am sending in my first batch to NGC this week and deciding whether to send this in with everything. My questions are:

1. I assume this damage makes the coin unable to have an official grade. If there's even a tiny chance it can get graded that's a major bonus but I have zero expectations of that and knew that ahead of time.

2. If it's ungradeable would NGC still put it in a slab so I can at least know it's authentic? I'm planning on holding onto it for a long time and just want to know it's legit and that's well worth the NGC fee to me again even if it can't get an actual grade.

Appreciate any help, hope to be active around here.

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

If all is as you say, there's no harm in sending it in. It might get straight graded, or more likely, details graded. Either way, it'll be in a slab.

4. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

Your thinking is pretty much completely correct. It's unlikely that large a chunk taken out of the coin would get it into a "straight" slab, even in that circulated condition, but an 1889-CC pretty much must be in a major TPG slab to have liquidity in the marketplace. Too many fakes, too much money at risk.

Any chance of seeing the whole coin? Refer back to my last sentence in the previous paragraph.

Santinidollar likes this.
  5. IBetASilverDollar