Damage an "putty" on gold?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Dave M, May 5, 2015.

1. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

I recently noticed a thread in which someone referred to using putty to fill dings in gold coins, which then slipped by the TPG. That thread got me worried about the area in the field at 3-4 o'clock on this coin. I don't own the coin but was considering it, and I have periodically seen this off-color on photos of gold coins. Is this what this "putty" looks like? Or is this more likely just a lighting issue during photography?

Thanks for any help!
    5089_20f07pcgsms66_3.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

Looks more like some kind of friction/contact marks to me.

Dave M likes this.
  4. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

3-4 o'clock ooks to be a fingerprint but the dandelion yellow I don't like

Kentucky and Dave M like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Here is an interesting article - I want to share this website and it's info with you - http://raregoldcoins.com/market-blog/a-basic-guide-to-detecting-doctored-gold-coins
    This was mentioned in the article - quote "Many of the U.S. gold coins that have been doctored have had substances put on the surfaces in an attempt to hide hairlines or marks. Often times, substances such as auto body putty or dental wax are lightly coated on the surfaces." closed quote

Dave M likes this.
  6. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

Ah, fingerprint! The more I stare at it, the more I think you're right. And the dandelion yellow, I just assumed that was an artifact of the lighting... hmmm.

paddyman, thanks for that link. I'm still having a bit of trouble imagining how one could use putty, and deal with the coloring and other issues, but that was a very good read about the various things that are done to gold coins.

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member