couple more stars rescued

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by joshuacoinington, Oct 7, 2015.

1. joshuacoinington

joshuacoinington glade rd

They ain't pretty but I keep them all! 20151005_230103.jpg 20151005_230144.jpg

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

The 2nd isn't a star

even upside down

4. joshuacoinington

Whoops that's a radar note wrong pick I keep all of those to

5. techwriter

techwriter Well-Known Member

Nice. Hang onto them for now; you may want to use them for trades for ?? :)

6. joshuacoinington

Here

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice one! Looks better like this ---It's more of a bookend than a Radar
    20151005_230144.jpg

Endeavor and joshuacoinington like this.
  8. joshuacoinington

Nice image,

9. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

I have never heard of bookend serial numbers. Do they carry a premium?

10. joshuacoinington

ive never heard it either it's a radar note the same four numbers different order

11. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

I could be wrong, and hopefully others will correct me if I am, but I'm under the impression that in order for a serial number to be a radar note it has to have the other half's order in exact reverse order of the first half. Kind of like how radio waves (radar is a word derived from the acroynm radio detection and ranging) travel in one direction, hit an object, and then retrace back to the point of origin in the exact reverse direction. The term palindrome is used to describe words or sequence of numbers that are the same forward as they backwards. Incidentally, radar (r-a-d-a-r) is a palindrome.

You would need one of the 94's to be "49" for it to be radar.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2015
  12. techwriter

Well let's see:

94844894 backwards is 49844849 = not radar
    94844849 backwards is 94844849 = yes radar

phankins11 likes this.
  13. ldhair