Countermarked Roman coin: PRO + IMP + BSY

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by GeorgeM, Oct 18, 2019.

1. GeorgeM

GeorgeM Well-Known Member

I recently picked up this piece from a metal detectorist who was selling several mixed up hoards from the 90s. Most of the coins he had were from Lithuania (c1660s) & Spain (c1636 & 1641 with some glorious counterstamps remonetizing beat up old copper host coins).

One ancient jumped out at me though and set off a "bong" in that bell hiding in my hindbrain. I'm not an expert on these counterstamped Roman coins, but it seems that they date mostly to the first and second centuries CE. It's my understanding that this is because later emperors were less concerned about tying their legitimacy to previous rulers and were happy to melt down coins to reissue lighter / lower purity coinage of their own.

If I'm reading these 3 countermarks correctly, this piece is stamped "PRO / BSY / IMP". Or, "By order of..." "???," "Emperor".

In a quick search of other counterstamped Roman coins though, I'm not seeing "BSY". Do we have any experts who can help guide me toward which emperor, usurper, or pretender might have used that counterstamp?

I'm also curious about the host coin, but I'll probably have to measure diameter and weight to have any hope of ID-ing it. Even then, it's a longshot due to the extremely worn details. And the reverse is pretty much gone.

Attached Files:

Johndakerftw and Curtisimo like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Alegandron

Alegandron "ΤΩΙ ΚΡΑΤΙΣΤΩΙ..." ΜΕΓΑΣ ΑΛΕΞΑΝΔΡΟΣ, June 323 BCE

Way cool, @GeorgeM .

I understand countermarked AE coins were to retarrif them for the Legions as small change to break the larger value Denarii that they were paid.

Here is one of mine:

upload_2019-10-18_16-20-31.png
    Augustus As four countermarks 25-23 mm 9.8g TICA AVG probably for Tiberius Augustus CE14-37 Dolphin

4. Marsyas Mike

Marsyas Mike Well-Known Member