Counterfeit?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Daniel Jones, May 26, 2020.

1. Daniel Jones

Daniel Jones Well-Known Member

I recently contacted an eBay seller about this coin ebay.com/itm/192901634480?ul_noapp=true being counterfeit, but he said it is 100% genuine, and said he bought it from Heritage auctions #231752 lot #64268. Does this coin look genuine, or is this seller a fraud?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

well, I am not an expert on the series, so for what it is worth:
    I see nothing that jumps out as fake to me.

But, wait for the real experts to chime in

4. Evan Saltis

Evan Saltis OWNER - EBS Numis LLC Supporter

Like Treas said, I don't see anything that really jumps out at me, no seam visible, etc. I'm no expert either though.

5. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Do you collect this series? If so, why not tell all of us what you don't like about the coin. Please be specific.

If you don't specialize in this series...

I'll comment on it AFTER IT IS MOVED TO THE WORLD COIN FORUM.

Kentucky likes this.
  6. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Nothing jumps out at me other than it has been cleaned/wiped, and probably some spots removed.

7. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Don't know much about these but I see what might be casting pearls. I reported it and asked for it to be switched to the World Coin forum.

8. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

If it is good, it looks like the die maker's son did the work. The edge might be indicative, although I also do not collect these. Jim

1934 Wreath Crown likes this.
  9. mrbadexample

mrbadexample Well-Known Member

Have you checked the Heritage auction to see if it matches his claim?

10. 1934 Wreath Crown

1934 Wreath Crown Well-Known Member