Counterclash on a 1973 D Lincoln Cent?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Zimmer118, Feb 10, 2016.

1. Zimmer118

Zimmer118 New Member

Is the subject line the proper term for this type of error? The letters "E. Pluribus" are stamped concave and rotated left 1973 D Counterclash rev.jpg , beneath the original stamping.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Now that's interesting. You are going to get a lot of responses on this one. From PMD - Post Mint Damage to Vise job.

It kind of looks like some type of Struck Through. Maybe a piece from another Cent that created that crater like area then detached. But I'm not positive on my description.

4. Evan8

Evan8 A Little Off Center

I see no rim indentations suggesting vice job. Looks like a strike through grease but im not sure how the lettering ended up in it

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It can't be a vise job because the lettering would be backwards. Could it be a "Dropped Element" wherein a large piece of a grease-filled die covered the field and letters before falling onto the next planchet?

Chris

Cascade, tommyc03 and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

Very interesting for sure. Might as well get @mikediamond in on it but I think you hit the nail on the head chris

7. deacon2828

deacon2828 Active Member

Looks like a lamination on this one !

8. Mark Oliver

Mark Oliver Active Member

That certainly is cool whatever it is. Nice find Zimmer.

9. Mark Oliver

I looked at the maddieclashes.com glossary and didn't see that term.

10. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

Definatly not a lam. Think about it, how did those letters get stuck at that area if it was a lamination. If it's a rotated double strike where is everything else?... I'm 99% confident mike will call this a dropped element strikethrough just like chris said. It's like a dropped letter only much bigger

11. Mark Oliver