could someone please do a step by step instruction for this

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by harley bissell, Jul 27, 2017.

1. harley bissell

harley bissell Well-Known Member

I am told that it is possible to search for images on Google. I thought that would be a dandy way to find mint state photos of older coins that I am trying to attribute and identify. I am not tech savvy and seek someone to explain the process of searching for an image on Gogle. Thank you so much for your assistance. Harley Bissell

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TIF

TIF Always learning.

You can indeed search by image on Google but I haven't found it very accurate for coins. Here's how to do it.

Go to Google, click on Images. Here's direct link:

https://www.google.com/imghp?hl=en

You'll see this (screen shot taken while I hovered over the camera icon, which is what you want to click next):

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 10.48.26 AM.png

Click that camera icon; you'll see this:

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 10.48.38 AM.png

Follow those instructions (either paste an image's URL or upload an image from your computer)

The problem with coins is that the hits returned will simply be pictures of round objects of a similar color, with similar backgrounds. It can locate other instances of the exact picture you're searching, if that is what you're seeking.

An alternative search-by-image website is TinEye, but I haven't found it to be any more sophisticated than Google Image searching.

4. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

When you search Google and get a list of URL results there will be a line at the top allowing you to select all, shopping, images, videos or more. Clicking on images will display a lot of images but my experience has been less impressive since they tend to display things that are close but not really what you asked for.

5. TIF

TIF Always learning.