Corinth AR Stater Pegasus - My 2nd Ancient Purchase

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Joe2007, Dec 5, 2015.

1. Joe2007

Joe2007 Well-Known Member

Hello folks,

Starting to get into ancients after collecting U.S. coins for the past 10 or so years. I've wanted a Pegasus for a while now and the opportunity to act on that desire finally materialized. I'm a newbie so let me know if I'm making any serious mistakes.

Your thoughts?

Thanks,
    Joe2007
    DSC06240-1.jpg DSC06240-2.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

Ancient collectors are not fans of slabbed ancient's & it takes the fun away from collecting them.

Not sure what your paying for this but it may be double what the average goes for raw due to the slab. Many dealers double & triple the cost of a ancient just because it's in a slab.

But the coin itself looks OK to me. Pictures aren't great, could look better in-hand.

4. Valentinian

Valentinian Well-Known Member

Mat is right.

5. Magnus Maximus

Magnus Maximus Dulce et Decorum est....

Not bad at all!
    Cheers!

6. TIF

TIF Always learning.

I agree with the above.

From what I can see, it looks like a nice example of an early Corinth stater. Photoshopping out the $*#@ plastic and tweaking the image, you can see some great toning on the obverse, which has a good strike. The reverse surfaces don't look as appealing but overall, I suspect it is probably a great coin in hand (literally in-hand, as in out of the plastic), when viewed with good lighting and crisp focus.

Joe2007-CorinthStater.jpg

I'm not very familiar with these earlier staters and don't recall seeing that reverse style. Where is the long hair? Where is the leather flap? I'm not saying it's inauthentic, I'm just curious about the style, which looks more like a Pamphylian portrayal of Athena.

Pishpash, stevex6, Joe2007 and 4 others like this.
  7. Joe2007