copper pennies

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by ob3rst1337, Dec 21, 2018.

1. ob3rst1337

ob3rst1337 Active Member

does anyone horde copper pennies because of melt value is it even worth it?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

It is not worth it. The melt ban isn’t going to be lifted anytime soon and pre-82 cents take up ridiculous amounts of space for the little value they contain.

tibor and TypeCoin971793 like this.
  4. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Some people do it, but copper would have to rise to at least 6 dollars a pound to break even and copper even at it's highest has never been much over $4.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nope!
    The scrap yards here in NYC would turn you away!

6. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Even if melting them was legal and someone showed up with a couple tons of them?

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Agreed, and that's actually a good suggestion for anyone considering this. Instead of assuming or believing the often BS found online, talk to the very people one would deal with if and/or when this became an option.

What one has to understand is that the quoted prices for copper is for grade A, not a 95% alloy, and means sites such a coinflation are misleading even if unintentional. Being as there is some debate as to exactly how much such an alloy is worth, talking to those who would be buying it is an easy common sense approach that allows each individual to make a relatively informed decision instead of one based upon conjecture.

Omegaraptor likes this.
  8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Believe me.. I'm also a Scrapper! :woot:
    I have asked!

Last edited: Dec 21, 2018
  9. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist