Copper colored quarter????

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by soledad0924, Oct 26, 2014.

1. soledad0924

soledad0924 New Member

Hello. I'm new to this forum and finding a copper colored quarter has led me here with questions. I hope I can find some answers here, because scouring the internet is leading me in a million directions. Honestly, I have no real knowledge when it comes to coins, but I do collect interesting looking ones. Any help would be really appreciated. I made sure NOT to use a flash for the photos to give a better image here on the forum.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

I noticed right away that the copper colored quarter is slightly thinner than the regular quarter (see last picture). The copper is on the right. On the regular quarter's side ... you see silver, copper, silver. However on the copper quarter, you see a complete copper side.

I found this in a pile of change and it really had me wondering what this was? Does anybody have any information about this copper coin. Honestly, colorwise, it's very similar in color to a penny.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood!

Have you weighed it? A normal SQ should weigh 5.67 gms.

Chris

4. soledad0924

soledad0924 New Member

No I haven't had it weighed yet. How would I go about doing that? I'm completely new at the coin language and the special places to go for this type of thing. And thank you for the warm welcome. :)

5. cpm9ball

Any coin, jewelry or pawn shop would have a scale capable of weighing it to the nearest 1/100th gram (.01). If it is missing both clad layers, it is pretty scarce. Most coins are only missing the clad layer on one side, and these can be worth in the hundreds of dollars.

FWIW: You can find a decent digital scale online for about $15, but if you don't think you'd have much need for it, opt for the coin, jewelry or pawn shop.

Chris

soledad0924 likes this.
  6. soledad0924