Copper barber dime with 180% rotation

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Kevin wu, May 31, 2015.

1. Kevin wu

Kevin wu Well-Known Member

I Purchase this barber dime some years ago from eBay, it worn down very bad , someone even scratch surface to see if it was real copper, it also 180% rotation error , it badly shape but still nice one to keep .

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A US coin with that kind of rotation would be considered and called a Medallic Alignment Rotation. Nice one!

Last edited: May 31, 2015
    swamp yankee likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You maybe know this already just wanted to share -

Definition: Die rotation refers to the location of the "top" of the coin's image when the coin is turned over. For example, if you look at the obverse of a U.S. penny with Lincoln's head right-side up, and then turn the penny over from top to bottom, the building should be right side up on the reverse. This is called "coin alignment."

On some commemoratives and nearly all medals, the alignment is the opposite.
    If you turn a medal over from top to bottom, the reverse will be upside down, because "medal alignment" requires that the coin reverse be right-side up when the coin is turned from side to side (rather than from top to bottom.) The reason for medal alignment being different is that medals are frequently hung on ribbons or chains, and if the medal gets turned over, the wearer wouldn't want his medal to look upside down.

So on a medallic alignment such as your coin both Obverse and Reverse faces right side up.

Last edited: May 31, 2015
  5. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Cool coin, except that Barber dimes weren't made out of copper. I'm guessing it's toning?

6. Kevin wu