Coins With Girls and Girl With Coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by furryfrog02, Apr 11, 2022.

1. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

As many of you know, I am doing my best to raise a new generation of coin collectors - specifically with a focus on ancient coins and history.

My daughter has been interested in what her older brother, FFIVN, and I have been doing for a few years now and has started collecting her own coins. The one thing she has said since day one though, is that there should be more coins with girls on them!
    I whole heartedly agree and have been doing my best to help her add some to her burgeoning collection.

Several CTers have recently helped her expand her collection.

We received a package from @Roman Collector that included some beautiful sestertii of his favorite Faustina(s). My daughter chose a large sestertius of Faustina II that featured Fecunditas with 4 children - Perfect for our family since we have 4 kids!

And then a few weeks ago, we received a package in the mail from @Theodosius and were flabbergasted upon opening it to find a host of world coins along with some absolutely beautiful ancients. Included, was a bag which contained "Coins with girls". My daughter was over the moon!

We have been slowly pecking away at the ones that were not identified. Well, today was the first day of spring break and we finished identifying the last one!

She asked if we could share all of her new coins with girls and who am I to say "no"? So here they are. Many many thanks to the generous CTers who have helped a little girl expand her collection and love for coins and history!

Without further ado:
    Faustina II, Sestertius, FECVND AVGVSTAE.png
    Faustina II
    ca 157-161 AD
    AE sestertius
    Obverse: FAVSTINA AVGVSTA, draped bust right
    Reverse: FECVND AVGVSTAE S-C, Fecunditas standing right, holding two infants in her arms, two girls at her feet
    ex: @Roman Collector

Faustina I, Denarius, AVGVSTA.png