Coins I've found CRH - help grading, and general discussion

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Melina, Jul 19, 2011.

1. Melina

Melina Nickel Addict

Hello all, I figured I'd make a thread for some of the coins I've been obtaining either through CRH or ones that have been given to me.

I'd love some help grading these coins, as I've found or obtained them within the last 3 weeks. I'm rather new to this whole coin collecting thing, but I'm quite obsessed :) I'd love to learn as much as I can from you guys.

Let me know what you think, and if you like to grade coins, I'd LOVE your input! Thanks all.

All images taken with a Nikon D300.

1. 1865 Indian Head Penny - given to me by my grandfather. It's in VERY rough shape - it was hard to make out the date. Is it worth anything even in this horrible condition?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 1991-D Quarter - Found in a roll 7/11. I held on to this one because when I saw the edge of this coin, I expected it to be a newer quarter and was suprised to find out it was 10 years old and still in beautiful condition. Thoughts?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. 1938-S Nickel - Today's Big Find during coin roll hunting. I was shocked! What do you guys think it'd grade at/what would it be worth?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. 1937 Buffalo Nickel - Found in a roll last week - I was suprised to find this Buff in such nice condition, especially after it's been circulating for 70+ years. Thoughts on grade/value?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. 1943 Steel penny - I'm worried that this is plated. Is this just a very good condition steel penny or is this plated and worth nada?

[​IMG]

6. 1922-D Penny - I know this is a rarer wheat cent, but it's in such poor condition. Thoughts on value?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

7. 1909 vdb cent - Found in bulk of wheaties given to me. Just curious as to what this would grade/be worth. It's my favorite coin :)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

8. 1884 indian head cent - given to me by family member - this is the best condition IHC that I have. Thoughts?

[​IMG]