Coin World Survey

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by longnine009, Dec 13, 2020.

1. longnine009

longnine009 Darwin has to eat too. Supporter

In case it hasn't been posted already, Coin World
    has been doing a survey of numismatical influencers from 1960 to 2020 who are still living.
    There are 200 names on the list, in alphabetical order, and you can check off as many as you like.
    Insider is on the list as well.

https://www.coinworld.com/influential

benhur767 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

What is insider's name? o_O

4. longnine009

Skip Fazzari. He founded INS.

Bob Evancho and paddyman98 like this.
  5. johnmilton

johnmilton Well-Known Member

I did a cursory run through of the list. It’s hard to vote because there are people there who have influenced the hobby for the greater good, sometimes for the greatest good, and some who deserve to be left to obscurity.

Do you vote for all the good people and leave the bad ones out, or do you vote for all the “movers and shakers” regardless of their ethics or their negative influence? For that reason, I left it blank.

If I were to vote, I would nominate the great writers and researchers, like Dave Bowers and Roger Burdette.

wxcoin and benhur767 like this.
  6. longnine009

Yeah I voted for Bowers and RW Julian. But I also voted for the graders. I can't think of anything that influences numismatics more than graders and TPG's. A lot of names on that list I never heard of.

Penny Luster and johnmilton like this.
  7. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

There are far too many on that list who I recognize as outstanding in one or two areas (I don't mean outstanding in different collectible series like Barber Halves and Walkers . . . I mean outstanding in series-specific expertise, service, leadership, representation, authorship, etc).