COIN VALUING

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by RIchard Abanes, Feb 9, 2021.

1. HEY ALL,

I'm a new collector here. And having so much fun... Most all of my coins (pennies, mercury dimes, silver quarters, etc) are ALL low end. LoL. I'm a real newb with nothing special. But I do have a question. I've notice that there are two main websites I've found that give pricing: USAcoinbook and JMBullion. But they seem to have radically different pricing. JMBUllion always gives consistently lower pricing than usacoinbook. Just for example, with low-end pennies, usacoins still gives like .15 for G4 pennies from the 1940s... But JMBullion gives 0.0. Similar differences for all coins. Any insight you could give me as to why????

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. DarkRage666

DarkRage666 Ͳìɾҽժղҽʂʂ Ͳąҟҽղ ටѵҽɾ

I'd say stick with Numista.com

RIchard Abanes likes this.
  4. Evan Saltis

Evan Saltis OWNER - EBS Numis LLC Supporter

well, JMbullion is showing physical value for the wheat cents, as they are still legal tender worth one cent and are worth maybe 4 cents more if you sell them to someone who collects.

Copper is crazy cheap, and assuming everything sold on Jmbullion is meant as an investment into the metal, the 0.0 value is right. I don't know the exact price of copper, but it certainly is fractions of a penny

cpm9ball and RIchard Abanes like this.
  5. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

I use ebay sales/the red book and NGC price guides to try to get an idea on the values of specific coins.

Kentucky likes this.
  6. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

if your silver dimes and quarters are low grade commons then there basically worth melt i use ngc for coin melt values.

DarkRage666 likes this.
  7. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter