Coin question

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by MEHodges, Feb 21, 2017.

1. MEHodges

MEHodges Member

Hey guys what constitutes a light strike on a coin? I just got 2 2016 P Dime, one looks perfect with all crisp lettering around the coin. The second on has a very defined cameo but the "In God We Trust" moto and Date on the front are lightly on the coin to almost not there. On the back the center torch and surrounding items are crisp but the United states of America and One Dime are very lightly on the coin. I have never seen another coin like this but I am a new collector and figured it was just my lack of knowledge. Please let me know or give me some examples.

Eric

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Pictures!
    you-cant-see-me-cat-cats-kitten-kitty-pic-picture-funny-lolcat-cute-fun-lovely-photo-images.jpg

SchwaVB57 and Clawcoins like this.
  4. MEHodges

MEHodges Member

I tried taking pictures with my phone but in my office light it doesnt turn out good at all. I will see if I can get a better picture soon.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Most likely a Struck Through Debris error. Minor issue.

6. MEHodges

MEHodges Member

Here are the best pictures I can get right now.

Attached Files:

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

When taking photos, it's best that you take them from directly overhead and place your light sources at an angle about 45 degrees.

As suggested by Paddy, the coin was probably the result of a partially grease-filled die. This is a very common occurrence.

Chris

8. MEHodges

MEHodges Member

Sweet another cool addition to a growing collection. I like finding cool and unusual stuff like this in regular pocket change. Thanks guys.

9. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

I think your coin could be struck with Late Stage Dies. They are just worn thats all.