Coin inheritance and I have lots of questions

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Kelli2723, May 6, 2019.

1. Kelli2723

Kelli2723 New Member

Hello, I am very new to all of this, and I have recently inherited my grandmothers coin collection and I have all kinds of questions like what to look for, how to tell error coins and when to send something in to be graded and where/how to actually do that. I have a lot of US and Canadian coins and paper money. I have been searching the internet and have bought a few books, but I am not really sure how to tell conditions. Here are some Roosevelt Dimes that I have read are pretty valuable depending on conditions, so are these something I should have graded?

Attached Files:

Devyn5150 and kaparthy like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. frankjg

frankjg Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome

Start with Photograde.com which will get you started on how to grade.

Then, go buy yourself a Red Book of US coins which will give you more info on the coins you have and some very rough idea of pricing.

Grading is only for extremely rare and valuable coins and coins in the very highest grades.

What you have in the picture are common dimes, worth ten cents each.

Best of luck.

Kelli2723 likes this.
  4. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Welcome.
    Those all seem to be circulated dimes worth 10 cents.
    Here is a good reference I like to use to help gauge a rough estimate of grade:
    https://www.pcgs.com/PHOTOGRADE/

Kelli2723 and frankjg like this.
  5. fusiafinch

fusiafinch Member

It is fun to educate yourself and I encourage that. But it takes time to learn all this stuff. If you can look for a coin club in your area or find a dealer in your area that you can trust, that would be a great help. Coin shows have a lot of dealers where you can find somebody who you like and gives you the time for education.
    But don't sell in a hurry. Take your time and see what you have first.