Coin collection inheritance

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by rumandbass, Jan 20, 2016.

1. rumandbass

rumandbass New Member

Hello! I'm a complete coin novice and would like to find a trustworthy source of knowledge for my newly inherited coin collection. I have about 100 coins ranging from proofs to mints from the early 1800s through the 1960s. I've tried looking up information on them online, but it's really hard to figure out their value nor do I fully understand the rating system.

If someone would be willing to point me in the right direction, or knows of a trustworthy source who will give me fair prices, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you!

Erik Soderstrom and Endeavor like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Numismat

Numismat World coin enthusiast

If you can post some pictures of the coins, clear enough where we can see date/mint and condition, that would be your best starting point.

rumandbass likes this.
  4. rumandbass

rumandbass New Member

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood!

If you're interested in joining the hobby, the first thing you should do is purchase the Red Book of United States Coins published by Whitman Books. It is available at their online store. (NOTE: Buy the cheaper version, not the monster volume.) I don't advise you to place too much emphasis on their price guides, but it is best known for its detailed information about every coin that has ever been produced or used in the US since colonial times.

Chris

ddollard58 and rumandbass like this.
  6. rumandbass

rumandbass New Member

thank you Chris, I will look into that. I'm not actually looking to get into the hobby, I'd just like to know more about what my grandma left to me. I think a lot of these were things she saw on TV or got in the mail, so they probably aren't worth more than face value. Some are .900 silver though, so they may be worth a bit more.

ddollard58 likes this.
  7. rickmp