Cleaning old coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Jhaugh4, Jun 1, 2018.

1. Jhaugh4

Jhaugh4 New Member

I'm new to collecting coins and have a small collection of indian head, and lincoln pennies, nickels, and quarters going now. My question is on how I can clean them without making them look terrible. Everywhere I've looked has said to go somewhere and have a company do them, but I'm looking for a way to at home. Can anyone give me some ideas? Or should I just take them somewhere?

alurid likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Lawtoad

Lawtoad Well-Known Member

Welcome to Coin talk. The big rule in coin collecting is do not clean coins. It will greatly decrease the value of the coins. There are exceptions for ancient coins and seriously dirty coins, but even then is needs to be done correctly. There will likely be replies from more knowledgeable people on the forum about methods, but I would avoid cleaning unless absolutely necessary.

philologus_1 and Two Dogs like this.
  4. longshot

longshot Enthusiast Supporter

Generally an acetone soak is about all you can do without de-valuing a circulated coin.

5. Jhaugh4

Jhaugh4 New Member

I see. I have a lot that are kinda bad, but most are just general use and need some light cleaning

6. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

If you feel they are worth keeping then don't clean them. In fact, don't clean then at all. Welcome to CT.

PlanoSteve and Insider like this.
  7. Jhaugh4

Jhaugh4 New Member

So even dirty they possibly will be worth more than cleaned ones?
    Sorry if I'm asking obvious questions to you guys like I said, I'm new to this

Two Dogs and richard sheehan like this.
  8. longshot