cleaning coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by sadiegirl, May 23, 2017.

1. sadiegirl

sadiegirl Member

I have read that acetone is best for cleaning coins. After reading all the warnings on the can I am looking for the best and safest way to use acetone,

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Depends what kind of cleaning you want to do. It's best at times to not clean your coins. If so you can ruin them.

4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Please read this thread, and the one at the link you find there -

https://www.cointalk.com/threads/curious.296846/#post-2747798

Kentucky likes this.
  5. longarm

longarm Well-Known Member

Why do you want to clean them? Pictures?

Heathster likes this.
  6. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

I prefer the NIKE motto . . . just say no.

7. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Depends a lot on how many you are cleaning. Regardless of number, I would start with a water soak/rinse, including a distilled/deionized water rinse before any acetone. For small numbers of coins, use glass, cover it and dispose of the residue carefully. For larger amounts, similar but probably work outside.

LA_Geezer likes this.
  8. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

I acetone my bullion coins, that's about it.

9. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Or for the "war on drugs"...

On the other hand, perhaps, "just do it" was a more fitting motto after all. ;)

10. longshot

longshot Enthusiast Supporter

Depends on what is on the coin that you are trying to remove. As far as safety, acetone should be used in a ventilated area away from possible sources of ignition. Getting a little on your fingers won't hurt anything though. The important thing is to not rub the surfaces of the coin you are cleaning.

11. serafino

serafino Well-Known Member