Cleaning Coins with a Ultrasonic Cleaner

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Comixbooks, Jan 6, 2016.

1. Comixbooks

Comixbooks Active Member

Would the grading companies be able to notice if a coin was cleaned with a Ultrasonic cleaner with no solvents?

Mojavedave and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Good question. I have never seen one of those. I can see it more useful for Metal Detecting coin finds.

4. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

My wife has one of these to clean here jewelry .

This machine vibrates and will scratch your coins too ..

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

I've known people to use them. Only thing you have to worry about would be scratches in terms of tpg detection. Try it with crap coins first of various compositions and check em with a loupe after. I think some people put a velvety type material on 5he bottom of the basket just in case

6. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

That, and one coin at a time I think would be safe.
    But it's still just a treatment for debris on a coin, not for ugly marks or toning.

7. frech001

frech001 New but Old

I've seen suggestions in this and other forums about the use of acetone as a pH neutral solvent to soften verdigris on coins. I have used it to remove dirty grease, shellac, varnish and other organic matter. Since acetone is also water soluble it removes salts that could cause corrosion. Compressed air to remove the soften verdigris leaves no micro scratches. However, this should be done outdoors with good ventilation and chemical resistant gloves as acetone is highly flammable and somewhat toxic.

8. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd