Circular Scuff Mark on Washington Quarters?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Triodeguy, May 21, 2017.

1. Triodeguy

Triodeguy New Member

I see many graded Washington's with a circular scuff mark that circles the whole coin near the rim. It passes the same in the field, on and in-between the numerals and letters. It also shows up typically on the reverse outside the right wing.
    I was told this occurs when the planchet spins before strike. Is that correct?
    The photo shows an example.
    wash41.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I don't know about a Planchet spinning before being struck but I know of 2 other issues. Die Deterioration and when Paper Rolls are crimped the coins are damaged in this manner

4. Triodeguy

Triodeguy New Member

I thought paper rolls also but it is on both sides of the coin and I see them on NGC and PCGS coins with no note of it.

5. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I'm also thinking die deterioration. Also, is that your coin? Just asking because that date, specifically the 4, looks very interesting.

6. Triodeguy

Triodeguy New Member

No that is not my coin. I can't take a decent photo. But my coin is also the same DDO FS-102 as this internet image.

7. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

IMHO, it has nothing to do with paper coin rolling. Note that the areas of weakness where planchet metal did not fill the incuse relief design are also in the path of the circular "ring" characteristic. This is common on Washington Quarters. I believe this effect is due to a problem with the coin's strike and there is more than one cause of weak strikes on coins.

paddyman98 and Seattlite86 like this.
  8. Ditto

Ditto Member

I posted a thread May 6 2017 showing a 1977 Washington Quarter having a ring. The ring is much more defined. A dealor suggested die strike weakness but not 100% sure. Any thoughts appreciated.

9. Insider