Chopmarks: Desired history or a ruined coin??

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Gnomey, Jun 29, 2014.

1. Gnomey

Gnomey Active Member

Hello all. I have had something on my mind for a while, but being new to this forum, I wanted to get a feel for others' opinions on a matter.

Chopmarks. I *LOVE* them on a coin.

I am very new to graded coins and US coins at that. However, for the last 5 years (when I started collecting), I have been into world coins. I love all kinds of silver world coins, and typically I tend to gravitate towards silver coins from the 1600's-the 1800's. Now, my collections is nowhere near the caliber that I imagine some member's collections are, but it's mine and I love it.

I specifically got interested in Mexican coinage, which is convenient because we seem to have a nice surplus of it here in Texas. Specifically, I discovered the 8 Reales coins and my battleship was sunk.

After buying 10 or so 8 Reales coins, I realized many had symbols "punched" or "stamped" into them. I learned about the chop-mark. If my understanding is correct, merchants all across the world, and primarily in Asia, would have their own seals or symbols unique to them, which they would use to test coins. Again, if I am correct, they would use a hammer and a punch or stamp to strike the coin, leaving their unique mark on the coins, and by listening for a certain pitched ring, they could tell that the coin was genuine. If they or a merchant in a neighboring village recognized the mark on a coin from a merchant he knew, he also knew the coins(s) were "safe." If I am mistaken, please correct me.

So I found this marking of coins to be fascinating by historical standards personally. I then sought to purchase "attractively chop-marked" 8 reales coins for my collection. In doing this and learning about the coins, I also found that many collectors deemed the coins "numismatically-flawed" and many did not share my fascination with such examples.