Chinese Dynasty Coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Oxford Punter, Sep 30, 2016.

1. Oxford Punter

Oxford Punter Active Member

Recently I have been digging through coins that I've acquired over the years. They were NOT what I was collecting at the time, but were picked up around the edges of other trades. Because of that, they were put in a box and ignored -- up until now. I find I am getting a fair amount of enjoyment out of looking into these coins. I admit up front that I am a lowly novice in these types. But... a good deal of my amusement is in that not knowing!

Any and all tutelage about these coins will be humbly and gratefully accepted!

The left coin is from, I believe, the Han Dynasty, ~206BC-220AD. I am unsure on the differences between the Western Han and the Eastern Han dynasties, and thus where this coin may fit more specifically. How can I know?

The middle coin, I believe, may be the Qin Dynasty, 221-206BC.

The right coin, (I am taking a shot here), may be from the Song Dynasty. Perhaps more specifically, the Northern Song Dynasty, 1056-1063AD.

Am I wildly lucky in my guesses, or horribly off-base? Corrections will not hurt my feelings! On the contrary, I would appreciate the education. Thank you!

PhotoScan.jpg PhotoScan2.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. stevex6

stevex6 Random Mayhem

Hmmm, are you really 94 years old? ...

=> you are one year older than my dear ol' Dad

cheers.gif

4. TypeCoin971793

TypeCoin971793 Just a random guy on the internet

I'm going left to right.

The first coin is a Wu Zhu from the Eastern Han Dynasty. The way to tell is to look at the strokes of the zhu component of Zhu; if they are straight, then it is Western Han, and if they are curved, then it is Eastern Han. Compare below:

IMG_7020.JPG