Check out this little bugger...

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by oi!, Mar 29, 2015.

1. oi!

oi! Member

Found it in a proof set today. Sure wish it was in better shape, though.

Attached Files:

19Lyds, coop, KurtS and 1 other person like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tomfiggy

tomfiggy Well-Known Member

Great Find! That's a nice one.

4. oi!

oi! Member

Thanks Tom. I love the 1970 proof sets

5. tomfiggy

Where do you find them?

6. oi!

oi! Member

I bought this one from a local dealer. I was stunned that this slipped by. Maybe some dealers don't pick through their own stuff when they get them. I don't know. I'm just happy it settled in my collection after 45 years of floating around out there

7. KurtS

KurtS Die variety collector

I'm no expert on Lincoln cents, but it appears to be a DDO--and it's a small date as well! :D I can't find a listing for this one...maybe Coop will know?

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  8. oi!

oi! Member

I'm having trouble finding it too. If anybody knows, it'll be someone on this forum.

9. oi!

oi! Member

How about DDO-012? Calls for a small die chip underneath the left leg of the N in UNITED. Not sure if those two little marks are die chips but this seems to be the best candidate out of the known listings

Attached Files:

10. oi!

oi! Member

I feel fairly certain that it's DDO-012 after a little more research

11. KurtS

But DDO-012 is a non-proof large date--and your proof is a small date. I'm pretty certain about that--I've cherrypicked quite a few of these. :)

12. oi!

oi! Member

This is what I see for DDO-012:

Designation:

PR-12-O-II-E
    Description:
    Medium spread on LIBERTY with light spread on date and very light spread on TRUST
    Grade:
    PR65
    Population:
    Markers:
    Obverse is ODV-026 (Small date)
    UVC-2262
    DMR-021
    Stage A:
    Obverse and Reverse are EDS
    Stage B:
    Obverse is MDS
    Small die chip under the Left leg of the N of UNITED – MDS