Celtic drachms: genuine?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Roerbakmix, Jan 17, 2019.

1. Roerbakmix

Roerbakmix Well-Known Member

Hi all! I've recently bought three Celtic drachms, but I have some concerns about the authenticity. I would greatly appreciate any thoughts on these coins, being a relative novice myself (especially in Celtic coins).

DSC_0375.jpg DSC_0376.jpg
    Denomination: Drachme
    Weight (g): 2.61
    Diameter (cm): 1.6

DSC_0380.jpg DSC_0382.jpg
    Weight (g): 2.77
    Diameter (cm): 1.4

DSC_0383.jpg DSC_0384.jpg
    Weight (g): 2.40
    Diameter (cm): 1.4

My identification process so far, is that these are Eastern Europe celtic Phillip II imitations, the "kugelwange" type. The weight and diameter of these coins are, as far as I know, correct. The sides of the coins show now file, apart from one coin which looks as it was recently tested for silver quality at a jeweler (will try to post a detailed picture of that).

What strikes me though, is the amount of detail on the coin. The seller states he bought the coins at an auction years ago. He mentions selling his ancient coin collection to create some budget for his expanding medieval collection. His other coins definitely look genuine, but also highly detailed (e.g. antoninianus, some sestertii, etc.).

I've searched in vain online, and found similar coins, but not the same ones: neither genuine nor fakes. I would greatly appreciate any imput!

Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
    TypeCoin971793 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

They look OK to me but could be wrong.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  4. Roerbakmix

Roerbakmix Well-Known Member

Thanks Mat! Could you elaborate a bit?

5. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

Hard to say from just images, but the weight seems within range. I hope they are authentic. They are nice looking coins.
    Lower Danube Celt.jpg
    LOWER DANUBE CELTS
    AR Drachm