Cast Coinage

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Gary R. Wilson, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Gary R. Wilson

Gary R. Wilson ODERINT, DUM METUANT — CALIGULA

Hi everyone. Well, a while back I got burned on a couple of coins that I should have looked at closer but was careless. I need to remind myself that even though I've been collecting off and on since 1983 that I need to be careful. I got these coins off of Ebay from the same seller who I hadn't done business with before. I guess the morale of my story is to Live and Learn-you're never too experienced to still get bad coins. Here are the coins, both cast. If you look closely you can see the seams. Yeah, I know, they are easy to see. Carelessness. If you have any 'bad' coins to share, well misery loves company. :)

Roman_Empire_-_Commo.jpg Roman_Empire_-_Commo_1.jpg Roman_Empire_-_Domit.jpg Roman_Empire_-_Domit_1.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Marsyas Mike

Marsyas Mike Well-Known Member

Sorry to hear about your bad experience, Gary. Those are very attractive phonies, in my opinion (I am impressed by the patina, especially on the Domitian).

Personally, I like the challenge of bidding on poorly-described and/or photographed coins on eBay. The problem is, I do get burned from time to time. The key for me is to low-ball bid so that I'm not out too much. And so far, the good stuff has far outweighed the disappointments.

Here is a denarius of Julia Domna (seller's photos) that is a fake. In hand I was perplexed by the fact it weighed over four grams - I suspected something was wrong. Checking the ForgeryNetwork website, I found out it was a fairly common fake. I definitely should've checked before I bid!

FAKE - Julia Domna Den. Concordia (1).jpg

FAKE - Julia Domna Den. Concordia (2).jpg

4. Gary R. Wilson

Gary R. Wilson ODERINT, DUM METUANT — CALIGULA