Cast Chinese coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by britannia40, Jul 18, 2018.

1. britannia40

britannia40 Well-Known Member

I got these yesterday. I like the style. Is anyone on here good with Chinese cast coins I have very little knowledge of them.

from Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms Period. After Tang Dynasty I believe.
    IMG_20180718_100947.jpg
    IMG_20180718_100953.jpg

Knife is spring and autumn dynasty. 770-221 BC I believe
    IMG_20180718_100909.jpg
    IMG_20180718_100915.jpg
    Its ashame about the crack...

Deacon Ray and furryfrog02 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Deacon Ray

Deacon Ray Artist & Historian Supporter

Interesting coins and artifacts, @britannia40 ! I know absolutely nothing about them but we have several very knowledgeable forum members in coins of ancient China. Perhaps, @Loong Siew , @Ken Dorney , or @TypeCoin971793 could advise you.

britannia40 likes this.
  4. britannia40

Thanks Ray. I know alot about Chinese minted coins but cast coins I have no experience.

Chris

Deacon Ray likes this.
  5. Loong Siew

Loong Siew Well-Known Member

Hi @britannia40 .. the cracked coin belonged to the Xin Dynasty which was an interregnum by the usurper Wang Mang. It has a face value of 500 shaped like a knife.

6. Severus Alexander

Severus Alexander find me at NumisForums

The first one purports to be a coin of the Southern Tang kingdom (937-75), Emperor Yuan Zu, 943-61, Hartill 15.77. Bao Da yuan bao, with Tian on the reverse. Except it normally comes in iron... extremely rare in bronze, according to Hartill.

Did you get these on ebay? I would have serious doubts about their authenticity. :(

britannia40 likes this.
  7. TypeCoin971793

TypeCoin971793 Just a random guy on the internet