Canadian collectors are at a disadvantage

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by panzerman, Feb 22, 2017.

1. panzerman

panzerman Well-Known Member

I think Stevex6 will agree. When Canadian coin collectors buy coins from Auctions, prices are either in US Dollars/ UK Pounds/ Euros. So, when we buy foreign bank drafts to pay for our goodies, we pay $1.80=UK Pound $1.43= Euro $1.34= US$:inpain: This is SO unfair.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Ajax

Ajax Well-Known Member

I hear ya man it sucks.

panzerman likes this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

So, how much do you pay for health care and prescription medicine?

Chris

Paul M., panzerman, TIF and 3 others like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

:jawdrop:

Paul M. and panzerman like this.
  6. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

It's good for American and European buyers, but the unselfish side of me definitely feels the pain for our Canadian coin brothers and sisters.

I remember when the Canadian Dollar was higher than the US dollar only a handful of years ago,and the Euro was around 0.60 to 1 US Dollar not that long ago either. Back then buying things from overseas sucked for us in the US.

Paul M., panzerman and Ajax like this.
  7. Ajax

Ajax Well-Known Member

According to ctv the average family in 2015 would pay $11,000 in taxes for public health insurance. A lot of prescriptions are not free either. Not sure what you're getting at.

8. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

$11K? I don't believe that at all.

panzerman likes this.
  9. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Also in most other countries everyone pays GST. I know our Canadian brother and sisters do pay their share on goods. What is it on bullion isn't taxable but sterling is?
    Also GST on goods from other countries even gifts?