Byzantine is not my strong point - Can someone help me please?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Topcat7, Oct 13, 2015.

1. Topcat7

Topcat7 Still Learning

I know nothing about this coin (of mine). I 'suspect' it is Leo II (Edit: Imeant III - don't get old) and Constantine X but that is only a guess. (Edit: Sorry, I meant Constantine V.)

Can someone help me attribute this coin, please?

Magical Snap - 2015.08.30 07.26 - 226.jpg Magical Snap - 2015.08.30 07.26 - 227.jpg

Last edited: Oct 13, 2015
    stevex6, Magnus Maximus and chrsmat71 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TIF

TIF Always learning.

What is the size and weight?

Topcat7 likes this.
  4. Topcat7

Topcat7 Still Learning

AE23, 3.9 gm.

5. TIF

TIF Always learning.

I'm not very good with Byzantines, but the lack of exergual line/mint on the reverse makes me think it is from a later Byzantine emperor. Plus, although you didn't state the size, it looks like a rather small and light coin yet it is marked M (follis)... so that also makes me think it is not an earlier Byzantine.

Some possibilities:

[​IMG]
    Nicephorus I, with Stauracius. 802-811. Æ Follis (21.5mm, 4.56 g, 6h). Constantinople mint. Crowned facing busts of Nicephorus and Stauracius, each wearing chlamys; cross above / Large M; cross above, X/X/X to left, N/N/N to right, A below. DOC 5; SB 1607. VF, dark green-brown patina.

[​IMG]
    Michael II the Amorian, with Theophilus. 820-829. Æ Follis (21mm, 7.64 g, 6h). Constantinople mint. Struck 821-829. Crowned facing busts of Michael, wearing chlamys, and Theophilus, wearing loros / Large M; cross above, X/X/X to left, N/N/N to right; A below. DOC 8; SB 1618 (Michael I and Theophylactus). VF, dark green patina.

I found these by first quickly scanning Wildwinds, Byzantine by ruler, looking for similar obverses, M reverse, with the A monogram, and then searching for better examples in CNG (not "better", necessarily, but much easier to link in this post).